Inside Out: Multicolor-Washed Mind Edition

America is, as they say, the land of dreams. We can’t blame people who would like to secure their future by migrating to the States.

But, there is something about the Philippines that would really stick. Yung talagang babalik balikan mo. I don’t know what it is and I can’t find the words to explain it. The slogan “It’s more fun in the Philippines” might be really true to its sense.

However, I have to admit that there are times that I curse this forsaken third-world country. But I guess, that’s the beauty of it, the love-hate relationship I have with this group of islands where I hail from.

Have you ever thought of escaping the hardships our mother country offers? Let’s hear it from someone who has already entered the land of dreams – FOR GOOD.


KevinsideOut

Inside Out: Multicolor-Washed Mind Edition

by Kevin Wilson Bautista

I was already whitewashed being born in California. But I moved to the Philippines when I was 7. I had to learn Tagalog and the other Filipino ways to survive Manila – or else watch people’s noses bleed each time I talked to them.

Fast forward to 17 years later, it’s 2015 and I’ve already been accustomed with the country my roots come from. However, last June, I made the bold move of going back to the States.

So from being white-washed then brown-washed, I had to be white-washed all over again.

This had the makings of some rejected version of a Disney-Pixar movie. And if ever the voices in my head could talk, they would have a lot to say about me being here in the US again.

Fear and Anger probably would have the strongest opinions. They’d tell me about how going around the city isn’t a major problem anymore: how I don’t have to squeeze in jeepneys, tricycles, and LRTs, which their drivers insist – even if the current loads of people already look like sardines cans; how I can actually get full respect as a bike rider or pedestrian; and how the road rules are respected in general.

Disgust and Joy are finally contented that I actually get my money’s worth. Do not get them started on how small a food serving can get back in the Philippines. They’re also happy about things here like recording TV series and the government seeming much less corrupt.

Compared to countries like here in the USA, the Philippines definitely can improve in many ways. However, Sadness keeps on tugging me and making me realize what I miss back home.

That Filipino food, though sometimes few, is still one of the best your palette will ever taste.

That most of the Filipino people, if not all, are some of the kindest people you’ll ever come across.

That the Filipino roads, though a still long way to development, lead to most of my family.

Because my head may be in a million places, but my heart goes out to both countries I lived in – yes, even that little archipelago called the Philippines.

Where ever you go, home will always be where your heart is.

Kevin was the former Editor-In-Chief of Catalyst (A student publication in De La Salle Canlubang). Currently, he is braving his endeavors in California as an Incident Manager at Genpact.

He is also one of the brains behind City Imprint.

Check it out!

Header Image – Kamae Iniguez

RamjoTejada®

2 thoughts on “Inside Out: Multicolor-Washed Mind Edition

Leave a Reply

